Pura Gunung Kawi Temple

by on December 13, 2011

In the year 945 Saka inscription Tengkulak A issued by King Marakata, complex ancient relics are located on the river was named Katyagan Amarawati Pakerisan. The river is also called Jalu based pakerisan inscription carved above the door of the greatest temple that reads “Haji Lumah ing Jalu”. Kawi mountain’s name is the name given later to show that these relics enshrinement is a  complex because the temple is also a symbol of the mountain. It should also be aware that in Bali there are at least three temples which are also named as Pura Gunung Kawi: Pura Gunung Kawi in the Village Sebatu, Pura Gunung Kawi in the Village Keliki, Pura Gunung Kawi in the village Babitra.

Gunung Kawi Complex Archaeological relics began established in the 10th century BC. Its establishment began in the era of  Udayana about 989 BC. In the reign of  Marakata around the year 1023 AD. Heritage is named “Katyagan Amarawati” and then continued on government construction Anak Wungsu who ruled between the years 1049 to 1077 BC.

Gunung Kawi is a legacy of archaeological complex consisting of two types :

1.Kompleks Temple

This temple complex itself consists of two rows. Rows in the east of the river as much as 5 pieces Pakerisan cand, and row west of the river as much as 5 temples scattered in the northern row of 4 pieces of the temple and a temple far to the south terlatak separate from the other temples. In the row above the river east of the temple is located at the north there is a paper type Kadiri, which reads “Ing Jalu Lumah Haji” Haji means King, Lumah means enshrine (made ​​holy temple for the sacred monument) or sidha deity that mean a return to nature gods, Ing Jalu means in Pakerisan. Kris Jalu literally, as well as understanding the overall meaning is: King of the sacred river Pakerisan. On the basis of the alleged temple was to King Udayana. To the south of the temple above the second temple there is an inscription that reads “Rwa Nakira” which means son of two. With text based on the temple that is also for the second son of King Udayana is Marakata and Anak Wungsu. The other temples are allegedly for the Empress of the King. Other temples are as much as 4 pieces which lies to the west of the river dedicated to the King’s Consort. The temple is located deep in the southern part was dedicated to the Prime Minister of the King, because the temple there is a writing which reads “Rakriyan” which is the title given to high officials of the kingdom at that time.

2. Vihara complex

Temple complex used as a residence and a place to meditate. Consisting of several niches, centrally locate in Pakerisan across east river, south of the complex of temples east of the river. Other Other recesses dispersed and located near the cluster enshrinement.

One of the niche is a cave located at the north corner, separate from other complex niche, this niche seems to function very special. In the niche of the cave, there is a hole in the middle floor. Maybe the hole was used as a place to put tools in the form of Fire Homa ceremony. On this basis the cave that can be expected to function as a place of meditation. In front of the cave as a place of meditation, there are several pieces pripih (rectangular stone nine holes) are first placed in the enshrinement. The existence of as many as nine holes on this pripih worn premise that pripih cosmos is the symbol that is usually associated with the Gods Nawa Sanga (9 main temple of  Bali).

This post was written by Ade Nan

who has written 74 Articles on Bali Java Tour.

Ade Nan is CEO Marketing of Bali Java Tour, through this blog site seeks to share experiences, knowledge of adventures tour on Bali-Java Islands of Indonesia...read more>>

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: